That rare breed… Decievus Alluvus or Politician


I was thinking of that old joke that asks, “How do you know if a politician is lying?   His lips are moving…”  The funniest jokes are the ones with a hint of truth.  Unfortunately some jokes, like the latter, can be so true that they are no longer funny.  Today I was going over quotes that our politicians have said.  Republican and Democrat alike had some interesting patterns.  These are all quotes from the campaign trail. 

I’ve got two daughters. 9 years old and 6 years old. I am going to teach them first of all about values and morals. But if they make a mistake, I don’t want them punished with a baby.   Barack Obama

It’s time to fundamentally change the way that we do business in Washington. To help build a new foundation for the 21st century, we need to reform our government so that it is more efficient, more transparent, and more creative.  Barack Obama

I am a Republican. I’m loyal to the party of Abraham Lincoln and Theodore Roosevelt. And I believe that my party, in some ways, has strayed from those principles, particularly on the issue of fiscal discipline.   John McCain

On the subject of Osama bin Laden… we will track him down. We will capture him. We will bring him to justice, and I will follow him to the gates of hell.   John McCain

 The sad part is that it is truly hard to find quotes that are not in campaign mode nowadays.  These guys are campaigning 24/7. 

Ok politicians know what the American public wants.  They say it during the campaign.  Why is it that they NEVER get around to doing the important things they say they are going to do?  Why is it that they are NEVER the person they claimed to be during the campaign?  John McCain is famous for being tough on immigration DURING CAMPAIGNS, but once safely in office he can’t stop saying “Amnesty mi amigo!”  Oh, and my favorite is the campaign promise Obama made to give the American public transparency.  He said that EVERY BILL would be posted online for 5 days so the American public could read it before he signed it.  HAHAHAHAHAHA  I bet he chuckles himself to sleep at night on a pillow with the presidential seal thinking that we bought that one…  We the people have gotten so jaded and sick of the political speak.  Notice how what they say usually has two meanings.  Everything they say comes off as he supports my view, but has to say something to placate the other side…  The reality nowadays is that the politicians are placating YOU.  They do not believe what you believe.  I just want my politicians to unequivocally say something.  Say what you believe.  At least stand for something.  When we vote into office a person who has no moral compass, and no moral baseline, why are we surprised when they sell us out?  I would rather have someone I disagree with in office who stands by their beliefs, than some wishy-washy spineless twit that panders to the masses.  The first quote is a great example of this.  Let’s dissect it.

I’ve got two daughters. 9 years old and 6 years old. I am going to teach them first of all about values and morals. But if they make a mistake, I don’t want them punished with a baby.   Barack Obama 

This was a quote where Obama was trying to show his support for a womans choice in the abortion debate.  The only part of this quote with substance is “I don’t want them to be punished with a baby.”  It shows his mindset, and his stance on abortion.  The rest of the quote is merely a buffer.  It is meant to soften the stance, and prepare you ahead of time.  His stance should read.

I’ve got two daughters. 9 years old and 6 years old. I don’t want them punished with a baby if they make a mistake.  

But to avoid trouble with moderate Christians he throws in first I am going to teach them morals and values…  The reality is that he has contempt for traditional American morals and values.  That is why he hopes to fundamentally change America.  When you listen to a politician speak, watch for the placating statements.  If you think I agree with this guy, but he just had to say that to placate that group of people, he is not a trustworthy candidate. 

GG

About Guiltygovernment

Watchman of all things political.
This entry was posted in Guiltygovernment. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to That rare breed… Decievus Alluvus or Politician

  1. Sweetiebv says:

    I can’t think of anything I would want more in politics. It is so disheartening

  2. Sweetiebv says:

    I can’t think of anything I would want more in politics. It is so disheartening when the future of our country rests in the hands of liars and even some criminals.

  3. Vigilant says:

    Well said!

Leave a Reply

