Romney’s Debate Tactic


I watched the debate last night and found myself frustrated and confused.  I saw Romney taking shots and not responding in any way.  I saw him agreeing with nearly everything Obama said. 

I’m not sure if his tactic worked but I understand exactly what he was attempting to do.  It was the Muhammad Ali “Rope a dope” tactic.  Wether or not it was well executed will be decided in a couple of short weeks. 

Romney attempted to look Presidential. (and I think he did that)  He was also trying to seem conciliatory.  He was trying to show how he would work with others across the isle even when they are dead set against him. (eh maybe it worked)

Why?  This comes down to mathematics.  In a previous post I mentioned that many on the right are voting against Obama more than they are voting for Romney.  These votes are secure.  He was going after the independents/swing/undecided.  If he came out extremely right of Obama it would have stopped the momentum he is gaining with the middle.

Personally I do not care for the tactic.  To me it seems fake.  I want a candidate to be who he is ALL the time.  I know it will never happen, but wouldn’t it be nice.

GG

Anyone who is capable of getting themselves made President should on no account be allowed to do the job.

Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

About Guiltygovernment

Watchman of all things political.
This entry was posted in Guiltygovernment. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

